Day 5 in the Philippines

Yesterday, the medical missionaries and I took a boat from Bacolod to Iloilo. The boat ride was nauseating but we got through it. We took a tour of the city and ended up going to a home for the elderly. There we met a 110 year old woman. She was lying on a cot in the fetal position and I felt so sorry for her. She was blind and deaf. But the nurse said that if you’re brain is telling your body to stay alive, then your will to stay alive, keeps you alive. We chatted with the nurses there, some who here just volunteers, many who hardly even get paid. So the missionaries and I bought some tshirts as souvenirs, (purple and yellow for me of course) because they said that they make most of their money through donations from the souvenirs. After we left, we reflected after dinner on our thoughts and I just had to share how grateful I am for the little things in life, like a mattress. This experience has been very eye opening.

Today, we woke up at 5:30am and had mass at 6:30am followed by breakfast. We quickly drove to the mission site that was being held at a local grade school. They informed me that they had added a new dental area so I was told to shoot many of the patients getting their teeth pulled. Normally, they would be put under anesthesia, but without proper funds, all they can afford was a shot to numb the tooth. It was a little difficult watching the children and older people clinch their eyes in pain, but many of them toughed it out and were very thankful afterward. After the mission work ended, we took a quick rest and then me and a few missionaries played full court basketball with a the seminarians from St. Vincent’s near the mission. Yes, my finger may not be 100% but I can finally shoot a basketball! I made my first 5 shots before I finally shot one long. I was really excited that I was able to play because I haven’t been able to do shoot since the injury to my finger. After we lost to the very athletic seminarians, we jaywalked a few kilometers to our dinner and now, finally got to an internet cafe. Only 25 cents an hour! I’m having a great time, and I love being involved in this missionary work. It really shows me how blessed I am with what I have.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 5 in the Philippines

  1. Camille says:

    So proud of you and glad that you’re giving back to where we came from. I hope we can do a trip like this with our families someday. Take care out there and have lots of fun too!

Leave a Reply

